Tasmanian Writers’ Centre – resumed AGM

Brief notes from last night’s meeting (4th May 2018), the resumed AGM. Another good crowd in attendance. I didn’t take much notice of numbers … 75 or so?

Six people put up their hands for election to the Board. Can’t remember names, other than those of Robyn Friend and Terry Whitebeach. A chairman, deputy chairman and secretary were elected from these, there were no takers on the night for the position of treasurer.

Given the TWC’s financial difficulties, options of an alternative location for the centre were explored. Three possibilities were mentioned – one, with free use of an office, space for a library and a meeting room for events (but not covering telephone and internet costs), will be discussed with Hobart City Council this week. (Visitors to the TWC, if it were relocated to the HCC, would be issued visitors’ passes on entry to the building). Parking would be a problem, as it would with two other options also under consideration, in the Salamanca and Hunter Street vicinities. (Brief mention was also made of the news during the week that the HCC has decided not to support the nomination of Hobart as a UNESCO City of Literature – [read Anna Reynolds’ summary] ).

The TWC’s financial position means that any activities undertaken within the foreseeable future will be on a voluntary basis. Some money has been raised in support of the Centre over the past fortnight, from private donations as well as from a crowdfunding campaign, and questions were asked as to whether any of this might go towards the continued employment of three of the Centre’s part time workers. Appears that the crowdfunding portion of the monies can’t be accessed because the amount reached was nowhere near the figure ($50,000) striven for. No one was able to say what might happen to the monies already pledged, given this scenario. The crowdfunding page – briefly closed – has been reopened.

The possibility remains of some funding support being provided by the Australia Council, (via the grant round for arts projects and organisations that closed on 6th February?). The Centre’s still in the dark as to whether its application has been successful but hopes to hear ‘any day now’.

Board members elected unopposed were: Sue Kennedy (Chair), Cary Lennard (Deputy Chair), Terry Whitebeach, Robyn Friend, Kate Eagles (Secretary/Public Officer), & Bethany Nader.

(From Lyn Reeves: “There was discussion about the crowd funding appeal. This is still open. There is no time limit for reaching the goal amount and funds can be withdrawn when needed without affecting the progress of the fund. Here is the LINK “)

Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *